Our Team

Our forensic engineers are experts in accident reconstruction, failure analysis and cause & origin.


Our forensic engineers work directly with our in-house animation department to create state-of-the-art forensic animations for use in court, arbitration, mediation or settlement negotiations.

Engineers


Richard M. Ziernicki, Ph.D., P.E., DFE

President & CEO, Principal Mechanical Engineer

Dr. Ziernicki has evaluated several thousand industrial and vehicular accidents. He has presented papers and lectured at a…

(303) 925-1900
rziernicki@knottlab.com

Stanley C. Stoll, M.Eng., P.E., DFE, CFEI, CVFI

Vice President of Structural Engineering

Mr. Stoll runs the Western Colorado office and performs structural, building envelope, and fire investigations. During his…

(970) 640-5928
sstoll@knottlab.com

William H. Pierce, P.E.

Manager, Mechanical Engineering

Mr. Pierce joined Knott Laboratory, LLC with experience in premise liability, environmental, vehicle accident…

(713) 252-2709
wpierce@knottlab.com

Steve D. Knapp, P.E., CFEI, CVFI

Manager, Mechanical Engineering

Mr. Knapp has been working as a forensic engineer since 1999. During this time, the emphasis of his career has been focused…

(303) 925-1900
sknapp@knottlab.com

Cade R. Caldwell, P.E.

Engineering Manager

Mr. Caldwell has investigated cases involving property damaged by fire, flood, moisture intrusion, inadequate drainage, pipe…

(303) 925-1900
ccaldwell@knottlab.com

Kyle T. Wieghaus, Ph.D., P.E.

Engineering Manager

At Knott Laboratory, Dr. Wieghaus has investigated cases involving residential and large commercial properties damaged by…

(970) 631-5290
kwieghaus@knottlab.com

Tim R. Phelan, M.S., P.E., S.E, M.L.S.E.

Engineering Manager

Mr. Phelan has investigated cases involving property damaged by fire, flood, moisture intrusion, inadequate drainage, pipe…

(303) 925-1900
tphelan@knottlab.com

Ricky L. Nguyen, M.S., P.E.

Senior Engineer

Mr. Nguyen received his Bachelors of Science in Engineering with a Mechanical Specialty at the Colorado School of Mines in…

(303) 925-1900
rnguyen@knottlab.com

Henry “Hank” V. Mowry, P.E., CFEI

Senior Engineer

Mr. Mowry has worked in the nuclear power industry, chemical production industry in mid-stream oil and gas. As a forensic…

303-925-1900
hmowry@knottlab.com
Karl P. Mertens, M.S., P.E.

Karl P. Mertens, M.S., P.E.

Structural Engineer

Mr. Mertens has performed structural assessments helping owners understand the existing condition of their building as well…

(970) 580-3923
kmertens@knottlab.com

Eric A. Black, B.S., CFEI, CVFI

Mechanical Engineer

Mr. Black has investigated the cause of damage to properties damaged by fire, flood, moisture intrusion, inadequate…

(303) 925-1900
eblack@knottlab.com

Peter W. Korff, B.Sc.

Forensic Engineer

Mr. Korff earned his B.S. in Mechanical Engineering at Iowa State University.

(303) 925-1900
pkorff@knottlab.com

Sam R. Henning, B.Sc.

Structural Engineer

Mr. Henning received his Bachelors of Science Degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Colorado in Boulder, CO.…

(303) 925-1900
shenning@knottlab.com

David C. Neidig, B.Sc.

Engineer

Mr. Neidig has worked in laboratory and engineering environments within polyurethane, electronics, and aviation industries.…

303-925-1900
dneidig@knottlab.com

Rachel E. Gregg, M.S.

Mechanical Engineer

Ms. Gregg received her Master’s of Science Degree in Mechanical Engineering in 2018.

303-925-1900
rgregg@knottlab.com

Cameron R. Stoesser

Mechanical Engineering Intern

Mr. Stoesser is currently a student at the Colorado School of Mines majoring in Mechanical Engineering with a minor in…

303-925-1900
cstoesser@knottlab.com

Mark Kinghorn, B.Arch, AIA

Architectural and Building Consultant

Mr. Kinghorn has broad experience in all aspects of Architecture and General Construction with extensive experience with…

Michael J. Foley, B.S., E.E.

Senior Electro-Forensic Engineering Consultant

Mr. Foley specializes in the investigation of electrical failures and product liability issues with particular emphasis on…

(303) 925-1900

Gary W. Markham, P.E.

Principal Consultant

Mr. Markham specializes in consulting on and leading teams of consultants on very large engineering & construction claims,…

(303) 925-1900
gmarkham@knottlab.com

Wojciech Wach, Ph.D.

Senior Scientific Consultant

W. Wach conducts and directs investigations of vehicular accidents, which include automobiles, tractortrailers, buses,…

Animators


Angelos G. Leiloglou, M. Arch.

Regional Manager Texas, Director of Visualization

Mr. Leiloglou is a native of Texas. He grew up in San Antonio and attended Texas A&M University where he earned a Bachelor…

(210) 394-6993
aleiloglou@knottlab.com

Taylor D. Spiegelberg, B.F.A.

Senior Forensic Animator

Mr. Spiegelberg is one of our experts in 3D Modeling, Forensic Animation, Interactive Animations, Photo Matching,…

(303) 925-1900
tspiegelberg@knottlab.com

Kurt Twigg, B.Sc., B.F.A.

Forensic Animation Consultant

Mr. Twigg is one of our experts in animation.

(303) 925-1900
ktwigg@knottlab.com

Staff


Mila Ziernicki, M.S.

Chief Financial Officer

(303) 925-1900

Mike Lowe

Vice President of Business Development

Mr. Lowe joins Knott Laboratory as Vice President of Business Development. He comes to Knott Laboratory with a strong…

(303) 925-1900
mlowe@knottlab.com

Jamie D. Ramirez

Director of Administration

303-925-1900
jramirez@knottlab.com

Michael Zwarg, B.A.

IT Manager

Mr. Zwarg joined Knott Laboratory in 2006 as IT Manager. He oversees all aspects of technology for the engineering and…

(303) 925-1900
mzwarg@knottlab.com

Kelly Peppard

Executive Assistant, Mechanical Department

(303) 925-1900
kpeppard@knottlab.com

Karen Mellentine

Executive Assistant, Structural Department

(303) 925-1900
kmellentine@knottlab.com

Julie Cox

Administrative Assistant

(303) 925-1900
jcox@knottlab.com