Our Team

Our forensic engineers are experts in accident reconstruction, failure analysis and cause & origin.


Our forensic engineers work directly with our in-house animation department to create state-of-the-art forensic animations for use in court, arbitration, mediation or settlement negotiations.

Engineers


Richard M. Ziernicki, Ph.D., P.E., DFE

President & CEO, Principal Mechanical Engineer

Dr. Ziernicki has evaluated several thousand industrial and vehicular accidents. He has presented papers and lectured at a…

(303) 925-1900
rziernicki@knottlab.com

Stanley C. Stoll, M.Eng., P.E., CFEI, CVFI

Director of Structural Engineering

At Knott Laboratory, Mr. Stoll runs the Western Colorado office and performs structural, building envelope, and fire…

(970) 640-5928
sstoll@knottlab.com

Steve D. Knapp, P.E., CFEI, CVFI

Senior Engineer

Steve has been working as a forensic engineer for more than 14 years. During this time, the emphasis of his career has been…

(303) 925-1900
sknapp@knottlab.com

William H. Pierce, P.E.

Manager, Mechanical Engineering

Mr. Pierce joined Knott Laboratory, LLC with experience in premise liability, environmental, vehicle accident…

(303) 925-1900
wpierce@knottlab.com

Cade R. Caldwell, P.E.

Engineering Manager

Mr. Caldwell has investigated cases involving property damaged by fire, flood, moisture intrusion, inadequate drainage, pipe…

(303) 925-1900
ccaldwell@knottlab.com

Kyle T. Wieghaus, Ph.D., P.E.

Engineering Manager

At Knott Laboratory, Dr. Wieghaus has investigated cases involving residential and large commercial properties damaged by…

(970) 631-5290
kwieghaus@knottlab.com

Tim R. Phelan, M.S., P.E., S.E, M.L.S.E.

Engineering Manager

Mr. Phelan has investigated cases involving property damaged by fire, flood, moisture intrusion, inadequate drainage, pipe…

(303) 925-1900
tphelan@knottlab.com

Ricky L. Nguyen, M.S., P.E.

Senior Engineer

Ricky Nguyen received his Bachelors of Science in Engineering with a Mechanical Specialty at the Colorado School of Mines in…

(303) 925-1900
rnguyen@knottlab.com

Eric A. Black, B.S., CFEI, CVFI

Mechanical Engineer

Mr. Black has investigated the cause of damage to properties damaged by fire, flood, moisture intrusion, inadequate…

(303) 925-1900
eblack@knottlab.com

Peter W. Korff, B.Sc.

Forensic Engineer

Peter W. Korff earned his B.S. in Mechanical Engineering at Iowa State University.

(303) 925-1900
pkorff@knottlab.com

Sam Henning, B.Sc.

Structural Engineer

Sam Henning received his Bachelors of Science Degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Colorado in Boulder, CO.…

(303) 925-1900
shenning@knottlab.com

Anna L. Evans, B.Sc.

Mechanical Engineer

Anna Evans earned her Bachelor of Science in Engineering with a Mechanical Specialty at the Colorado School of Mines in…

(303) 925-1900
aevans@knottlab.com

Wojciech Wach, Ph.D.

Senior Scientific Consultant

W. Wach conducts and directs investigations of vehicular accidents, which include automobiles, tractortrailers, buses,…

Ben T. Railsback, M.S., P.E.

Mechanical Engineering Consultant

Mr. Railsback began his engineering career at Knott Laboratory after graduation from the Colorado School of Mines in Golden,…

(303) 925-1900

Cameron R. Stoesser

Mechanical Engineering Intern

303-925-1900
cstoesser@knottlab.com

Animators


Angelos G. Leiloglou, M. Arch.

Regional Manager Texas, Director of Visualization

Mr. Leiloglou is a native of Texas. He grew up in San Antonio and attended Texas A&M University where he earned a Bachelor…

(210) 394-6993
aleiloglou@knottlab.com

Kurt Twigg, B.Sc., B.F.A.

Senior Forensic Animator

Kurt Twigg is one of our experts in animation.

(303) 925-1900
ktwigg@knottlab.com

Taylor D. Spiegelberg, B.F.A.

Forensic Animator

Taylor D. Spiegelberg is one of our expert in 3D Modeling, Forensic Animation, Interactive Animations, Photo Matching,…

(303) 925-1900
tspiegelberg@knottlab.com

Staff


Mila Ziernicki, M.S.

Chief Financial Officer

(303) 925-1900

Jamie D. Ramirez

Director of Administration

303-925-1900
jramirez@knottlab.com

Mike Lowe

Director of Business Development

Mike Lowe joins Knott Laboratory as Director of Business Development. Mike comes to Knott Laboratory with a strong…

(303) 925-1900
mlowe@knottlab.com

Michael Zwarg, B.A.

IT Manager

Mr. Zwarg joined Knott Laboratory in 2006 as IT Manager. He oversees all aspects of technology for the engineering and…

(303) 925-1900
mzwarg@knottlab.com

Kelly Peppard

Executive Assistant, Mechanical Department

(303) 925-1900
kpeppard@knottlab.com

Karen Mellentine

Executive Assistant, Structural Department

(303) 925-1900
kmellentine@knottlab.com

Julie Cox

Front Desk Coordinator

(303) 925-1900
jcox@knottlab.com

Wafa Erickson

Consultant

(303) 925-1900
werickson@knottlab.com