Knott Laboratory provides forensic engineering and animation, Civil & Structural, and Fire & Explosion Investigation services to reconstruct accidents.


Our Team

Our forensic engineers are experts in accident reconstruction, failure analysis and cause & origin.


Our forensic engineers work directly with our in-house animation department to create state-of-the-art forensic animations for use in court, arbitration, mediation or settlement negotiations.

Engineers


Richard M. Ziernicki, Ph.D., P.E., DFE

Principal Engineer

Dr. Ziernicki has evaluated several thousand industrial and vehicular accidents. He has presented papers and lectured at a…

(303) 925-1900
rziernicki@knottlab.com

Stanley C. Stoll, M.Eng., P.E., DFE, CFEI, CVFI

CEO - Principal Engineer

Mr. Stoll is the CEO and a Principal Engineer at Knott Laboratory. Mr. Stoll is a board-certified diplomat forensic…

(970) 640-5928
sstoll@knottlab.com

Cade R. Caldwell, P.E.

Director of Engineering

Mr. Caldwell has investigated cases involving property damaged by fire, flood, moisture intrusion, inadequate drainage, pipe…

(303) 925-1900
ccaldwell@knottlab.com

Kyle T. Wieghaus, Ph.D., P.E.

Director of Engineering

At Knott Laboratory, Dr. Wieghaus has investigated cases involving residential and large commercial properties damaged by…

(970) 631-5290
kwieghaus@knottlab.com

Tim R. Phelan, M.S., P.E., S.E, M.L.S.E.

Director of Engineering

Mr. Phelan has investigated cases involving property damaged by fire, flood, moisture intrusion, inadequate drainage, pipe…

(303) 925-1900
tphelan@knottlab.com

Henry “Hank” V. Mowry, P.E.

Director of Engineering

Mr. Mowry has worked in the nuclear power industry, chemical production industry in mid-stream oil and gas. As a forensic…

303-925-1900
hmowry@knottlab.com

Ricky L. Nguyen, M.S., P.E.

Project Manager

Mr. Nguyen received his Bachelors of Science in Engineering with a Mechanical Specialty at the Colorado School of Mines in…

(303) 925-1900
rnguyen@knottlab.com

Samuel R. Henning, P.E.

Project Manager

Mr. Henning received his Bachelors of Science Degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Colorado in Boulder, CO.…

(303) 925-1900
shenning@knottlab.com

Brent R. Graham

Project Manager

Mr. Graham has investigated and reconstructed hundreds of vehicular accidents. After graduating from the Colorado State…

303-925-1900
bgraham@knottlab.com

Eric A. Black, M.S., P.E., CFEI, CVFI

Senior Engineer/Fire Investigator

Mr. Black has investigated the cause of damage to properties damaged by fire, flood, moisture intrusion, inadequate…

(303) 925-1900
eblack@knottlab.com
Jason Cochran

Jason M.K. Cochran, M.S., P.E.

Senior Engineer

Mr. Cochran has investigated hundreds of cases involving property damage, foundation failure, structural member failure,…

(303) 925-1900
jcochran@knottlab.com
Karl P. Mertens, M.S., P.E.

Karl P. Mertens, M.S., P.E.

Structural Engineer

Mr. Mertens has performed structural assessments helping owners understand the existing condition of their building as well…

(719) 493-8364
kmertens@knottlab.com

Scott B. Hargrove, P.E.

Structural Engineer

Mr. Hargrove’s responsibilities have included complete structural engineering for both new construction and remodeled…

(303) 925-1900
shargrove@knottlab.com

Michael Arambel, P.E.

Structural Engineer

Mr. Arambel received his Bachelors of Science Degree in Civil Engineering from Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff, AZ.…

(303) 925-1900
marambel@knottlab.com

Peter W. Korff, B.Sc.

Project Engineer

Mr. Korff earned his B.S. in Mechanical Engineering at Iowa State University.

(303) 925-1900
pkorff@knottlab.com

David C. Neidig, B.Sc.

Project Engineer

Mr. Neidig has worked in laboratory and engineering environments within polyurethane, electronics, and aviation industries.…

303-925-1900
dneidig@knottlab.com

Cameron R. Stoesser, B.Sc.

Project Engineer

Mr. Stoesser graduated from the Colorado School of Mines with a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering in May 2020.

303-925-1900
cstoesser@knottlab.com

Jason P. Evans, M.B.A., B.S.

Project Engineer

Mr. Evans has performed investigations and reconstructions of high and low-speed motor vehicle accidents involving passenger…

303-925-1900
jevans@knottlab.com

Sean Dunfee, B.S., E.I.T

Project Engineer

Mr. Dunfee has engineering design experience in single-family wood construction. He has worked as a structural design…

303-925-1900
sdunfee@knottlab.com

Taylor Valentine, B.S.

Project Engineer

Ms. Valentine has worked as a project engineer in the structural repair industry where she gained engineering design and…

303-925-1900
tvalentine@knottlab.com

Garrett Howard

Mechanical Engineering Intern

(303) 925-1900
ghoward@knottlab.com

Animators


Taylor D. Spiegelberg, B.F.A.

Senior Visualization Expert

Mr. Spiegelberg is one of our experts in 3D Modeling, Forensic Animation, Interactive Animations, Photo Matching,…

(303) 925-1900
tspiegelberg@knottlab.com

Angelos G. Leiloglou, M. Arch.

Senior Visualization Consultant

Mr. Leiloglou is a native of Texas. He grew up in San Antonio and attended Texas A&M University where he earned a Bachelor…

(303) 925-1900
aleiloglou@knottlab.com

Business Development


Mike Lowe headshot

Mike Lowe

President

Mr. Lowe is the President of Knott Laboratory. He comes to Knott Laboratory with a strong construction background. Mr. Lowe…

(303) 925-1900
mlowe@knottlab.com
Justin Bayer headshot

Justin Bayer

Director of Business Development

Mr. Bayer's background prior to joining Knott Laboratory L.L.C comes from experience in Business Development within the HOA…

(480) 316-1834
jbayer@knottlab.com

Bo Milberger

Client Relations Manager

Bo Milberger is a Colorado native and is a Client Relations Manager with Knott Laboratory.

(303) 801-7635
bmilberger@knottlab.com
Jennah Stanton headshot

Jennah Stanton

Client Relations Manager

Jennah Stanton is Client Relations Manager at the Knott Laboratory Phoenix location.

(623) 826-2674
jstanton@knottlab.com

Melissa Koenig

Client Relations Manager

Melissa Koenig is Client Relations Manager for our clients in the insurance industry.

(303) 925-1900
mkoenig@knottlab.com
Sarah Allen marketing manager at Knott Lab

Sarah Allen

Marketing Manager

Sarah Allen has a diverse marketing background across many industries from mountain bike manufacturing to the financial…

(970) 361-0457
sallen@knottlab.com

Administration


Jamie D. Ramirez

Vice President of Administration

303-925-1900
jramirez@knottlab.com

Kelly Peppard

Executive Case Manager

(303) 925-1900
kpeppard@knottlab.com

Karen Mellentine

Business Process Manager

(303) 925-1900
kmellentine@knottlab.com

Julie Cox

Accounting Clerk

(303) 925-1900
jcox@knottlab.com
Nisha Lowe Headshot

Nisha Lowe

Administrative Assistant

(303) 925-1900
nlowe@knottlab.com

Consultants


Steve D. Knapp, P.E., CFEI, CVFI

Senior Consulting Engineer

Mr. Knapp has been working as a forensic engineer since 1999. During this time, the emphasis of his career has been focused…

(303) 925-1900
sknapp@knottlab.com

Mark Kinghorn, B.Arch, AIA

Architectural and Building Consultant

Mr. Kinghorn has broad experience in all aspects of Architecture and General Construction with extensive experience with…

(303) 925-1900
mkinghorn@knottlab.com

Gary W. Markham, P.E.

Principal Consultant

Mr. Markham specializes in consulting on and leading teams of consultants on very large engineering & construction claims,…

(303) 925-1900
gmarkham@knottlab.com

Wojciech Wach, Ph.D.

Senior Scientific Consultant

W. Wach conducts and directs investigations of vehicular accidents, which include automobiles, tractortrailers, buses,…

(303) 925-1900